Board of directors

Prashant Ruia - Director and Non-Executive Chairman

Prashant RuiaPrashant is part of the second generation of the Ruia family that founded Essar. Essar was founded in 1969 by his father, Shashi Ruia and uncle Ravi Ruia.

Prashant has been an integral part of EGFL’s operations and management since 1985 and has been a key driver of the Fund’s growth, diversification and value creation both within India and internationally. He is respected for his project execution skills, financial expertise and people management capabilities.

Prashant holds key positions on several prestigious regulatory and professional boards.  He is a member of the UK India Business Council and a member of the India-Indonesia CEO’s Forum.


Deepak Maheshwari - Chief Executive Officer

Deepak MaheshwariChief Executive Deepak Maheshwari has more than 25 years’ senior leadership experience, across the utilities, energy, and infrastructure sectors in Europe and Asia and will further strengthen corporate governance of the Company within an ESG framework.

Deepak was most recently Chief Financial Officer and Head of Strategy at Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone Limited, India's largest commercial multi-port operator. He was previously CFO of Essar Energy Limited.

As CEO, Deepak will work closely with the EET Fuels' Board on the delivery of a number of strategic transition projects which are aimed at making Stanlow a low carbon refinery to meet the future energy needs of the UK.


Tony Fountain - Non-Executive Director

Tony FountainTony brings extensive manufacturing, marketing and specialist trading experience and transformation experience. He started his career at BP and his roles have included the CEO of Refining and Marketing at Reliance Industries Limited. This was uniquely followed by a period as CEO of the UK Nuclear Decommissioning Authority - with oversight for nuclear decommissioning. He then went on to apply this extensive operational, regulatory, and health and safety experience in a range of board positions, also applying his governance experience to companies operating in complex environments over three continents. This includes roles as Chair of Sellafield UK and of Nayara Energy Limited and as a non-Executive Director at ATCO Group.


Tim Bullock - Independent Non-Executive Director

Tim BullockAppointed in June 2021, Tim Bullock brings to EET Fuels more than 30 years’ experience working across the oil, gas and power industries, both within the UK and internationally. Currently Chair of Bonroy Petchem, his former roles include having served as Chief Executive of Mabanaft (Germany) and Litasco (Switzerland), as well as spending 27 years with BP, including as Group Vice President of Global Oil Supply & Trading.

In his role, Bullock will work not only to enhance the company’s governance and risk assessment capabilities, but also provide strategic insights around EET Fuels' innovation and commercial growth strategy.  Bullock joins EET Fuels' Board at a key juncture in the company’s ongoing growth, as the company delivers on its promise of transitioning into a low carbon energy provider of the future and helping build the UK’s green economy.


Mark Palios - Independent Non-Executive Director

Mark started his career as a professional footballer, playing for notable North West teams including Tranmere Rovers and Crewe Alexandra.  After retiring from the professional game in 1986, he went on to have a distinguished career in business as a chartered accountant with Arthur Young and latterly as a senior partner at PwC, specialising in business turnaround.  In 2003, he was appointed as chief executive of the Football Association, carving out a specialism and expertise in business and sports governance.  He has extensive non-executive and executive board experience, sitting on the boards of a number of organisations and businesses.

The appointment by EET Fuels marks another step in strengthening its corporate governance framework.  EET Fuels is committed to operating the highest level of governance standards across its business and committed last year to the Wates Principles – the corporate governance framework for large privately-owned businesses in the UK.  Mark’s addition to the Board follows EET Fuels' appointment of Tim Bullock as an independent non-executive director in June 2021.


Andrew Wright - Non-Executive Director

Andrew WrightAndrew Wright has 25 years of transaction and business experience as a solicitor of England and Wales. He worked in private practice for just under 10 years with White & Case LLP and then with Vinson & Elkins LLP, one of the leading global energy law firms. In 2005, Andrew joined a leading sovereign wealth fund in the Middle East, serving as its general counsel for five years and being appointed to the investment committee and to the board of various portfolio entities in the UK and the Middle East. He returned to the UK in 2011 and joined Essar Capital in its legal team.

Since 2016, Andrew founded his own legal and risk consulting business and has continued to work with Essar Capital to support and advise Essar Capital’s senior management on legal and risk matters arising from its portfolio of investments, primarily in the USA and the UK. As well as sitting on the board of various Essar portfolio companies, Andrew also serves on the board of a number of third party entities that have businesses in emerging markets.